College of Health Sciences

About the College

The College of Health Sciences (CoHS) was inaugurated in 2010 as one of the colleges in the University of Buraimi and since then have produced 807 graduates by the end of 2020/2021. Currently, the College offers three undergraduate health sciences programs - Nursing, Optometry and Occupational Health and Safety. The College is adequately staffed with diversified and qualified faculty members who have robust teaching experience and vast clinical and industry exposure.

Dean's Message

 Dear Students/Visitors, 

 Welcome to the College of Health Sciences (CoHS) of the University of Buraimi. The college was established in 2010. It has taken shape and role among other similar colleges locally and regionally. The excellent training provided to students using well-equipped laboratories, accessible facilities and sufficient clinical/industrial exposure in a conducive environment facilitated by well-qualified faculty members make learning a wonderful experience. 

 The college is offering undergraduate programs in Nursing, Optometry, and Occupational Health and Safety which are intensive and require devotion and dedication to achieve the competencies required of a professional. Also, CoHS shares one graduate program (MBA in Public Health Administration) with the College of Business (CoB) in which 18 credits are taken at our college and 18 at the CoB. 

 The University of Buraimi (UoB) aspires to be a nationally recognized entrepreneurial university. Accordingly, the CoHS equips its graduates with the necessary knowledge and skills to become entrepreneurs; blend such competencies with the right attitude to think critically, and contribute effectively to society. Graduates are also prepared to be committed to lifelong learning to stay current with the newer developments in their field through continuing education and training. 

 Our national and internationally renowned faculty are dedicated to enhancing the learning outcomes of the students through bringing real-life experiences into the classroom and clinical/industrial settings. They are devoted to students’ success, making learning an unforgettable experience. 

 I invite all of you to navigate our website to know more about our programs and contact us for further help if needed. Thank you and wish you all the best. 

team

Dr. Hilal Alrahbi, PhD.

Dean, College of Health Sciences

Admission's Requirements

The College accepts graduates of a General Education Diploma or certified equivalent with an overall score of (C), and a minimum of grade (D) in:

  • Chemistry, Biology, Pure Mathematics, and English for Nursing major.

  • Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Pure Mathematics, and English for Optometry and Occupational Health and Safety majors.

  • In addition, students must pass a College Admission Test.

The mode of instruction is English.

Nursing

Bachelor Degree - 130 Credit Hours


Optometry

Bachelor Degree - 130 Credit Hours


Occupational Health & Safety

Bachelor Degree - 126 Credit Hours


Dr. Hilal Alrahbi

Dr. Hilal Alrahbi

Dean, College of Health Sciences

hilal.h@uob.edu.om

Ms. Anfal Altamimi

Ms. Anfal Altamimi

Secretary of the Dean

Anfal.y@uob.edu.om

Ms. Virgina Varghese

Ms. Virgina Varghese

Program Chair, Nursing Department

virgina.v@uob.edu.om

Dr. Shobana Gangadharan

Dr. Shobana Gangadharan

Associate Professor, Nursing Department

shobana@uob.edu.om

Dr. Khamis Al-Mezeini

Dr. Khamis Al-Mezeini

Assistant Professor, Nursing Department

khamis.m@uob.edu.om

Dr. Jessie James Tolero

Dr. Jessie James Tolero

Assistant Professor, Nursing Department

jessie.j@uob.edu.om

Dr. Malek Ahmed Al Natour

Dr. Malek Ahmed Al Natour

Assistant Professor, Nursing Department

malik@uob.edu.om

Dr. Rahaf Akel Rajjoub

Dr. Rahaf Akel Rajjoub

Assistant Professor, Nursing Department

rahaf@uob.edu.om

 Dr. Zeinab Mohammed Aysha

Dr. Zeinab Mohammed Aysha

Assistant Professor, Nursing Department

zeinab.m@uob.edu.om

Dr. Soniya Rasheed

Dr. Soniya Rasheed

Assistant professor, Nursing Department

soniya@uob.edu.om

Ms. Ruqaia Al Mughairy

Ms. Ruqaia Al Mughairy

Lecturer, Nursing Department

ruqaia.s@uob.edu.om

Ms. Faiqa Al Sinawi

Ms. Faiqa Al Sinawi

Lecturer, Nursing Department

Mr. Abdullah Al-Muzahmi

Mr. Abdullah Al-Muzahmi

Lecturer, Nursing Department

abdullah.muzahmi@uob.edu.om

Ms. Limna Mahaboob

Ms. Limna Mahaboob

Lecturer, Nursing Department

limna.m@uob.edu.om

Ms. Sabitha Sadanandan

Ms. Sabitha Sadanandan

Lecturer, Nursing Department

sabitha.s@uob.edu.om

Ms. Sumathi Sasikala

Ms. Sumathi Sasikala

Lecturer, COHS-Nursing Department

sumathi@uob.edu.om

Mr. Babu Noushad

Mr. Babu Noushad

Program chair, Optometry Department

babu.n@uob.edu.om

Dr. Galal Ismail

Dr. Galal Ismail

Associate Professor, COHS-Optometry Department

g.ismail@uob.edu.om

Dr. Janitha Ayyappan

Dr. Janitha Ayyappan

Assistant Professor, Optometry Department

janitha.a@uob.edu.om

Dr. Gopi Suresh Vankudre

Dr. Gopi Suresh Vankudre

Assistant Professor, Optometry Department

gopi.v@uob.edu.om

Dr. Zoelfigar Dafalla

Dr. Zoelfigar Dafalla

Assistant Professor, Optometry Department

zoelfiqar@uob.edu.om

Mr. Mohammed Al Shamsi

Mr. Mohammed Al Shamsi

Optometry center, Optometry Department

mohammed.s@uob.edu.om

College Brochure

Academic calander

Academic Calendar 2021/2022 (Spring semester)

Copyright © University of Buraimi 2022. All Rights Reserved.

We use cookie to improve your experience on our site. By using our site you consent cookies.

Allow Cookies Decline